West Virginia CPA Exam and Licensing Requirements

West Virginia CPA Exam and Licensing Requirements

1. Education Requirements To Sit For The Exam:

A candidate is required to fulfill one of the following:

  • Bachelor degree or above
  • Accounting course requirement: 27 semester hours (upper-division courses)
  • Business course: 27 hours
  • Business law: 6 hours
  • Ethics: 3 hours

2. Additional Requirements To Get CPA License:

Educational requirement

  • Fulfill 150 credit hours requirements

Work Experience

  • 1 year of full-time experience in public or non-public accounting.
  • Part-time work is accepted (as shown in the application form).
  • Other types of work e.g. volunteer work – the Board would need to consider the length of time and scope of duties as well as the complexity and diversity of work performed.
  • The experience must be verified but not necessarily supervised by an active CPA licensee.
  • Experience gained within 4 years of making application for licensure can be counted, both before and after sitting for the exam.

Ethics Qualifications

  • None required

3. Residency & Age Requirements:

  • US citizenship is not required
  • WV residency not required
  • Social security number requirement: W.Va. Code§ 30-1-6(d) requires one to provide an SSN.
  • Minimum age: none

4. Fees:

  • First-timers: $784.5 (4 CPA exam fees) + $170 (initial application fee)

5. Continuing Education Requirement:

CPE is required for license holders. Please click here for West Virginia CPA CPErequirements.

6. Other Useful Information:

7. Contact:

West Virginia Board of Accountancy
106 Capitol Street Suite 100
Charleston, WV 25301-2610